Courage to Change Pledge Distinctions

We’re proud to recognize the following candidates for local and state office who have taken the Courage to Change pledge. The Courage to Change Policy Pledge Distinction is designed to help constituents identify candidates who are committed to social, racial and economic justice.

Candidates across all levels of government are invited to submit a questionnaire pledging their support to strong progressive values. The candidates below successfully completed the CTC Policy Pledge questionnaire, meaning that voters can cast their ballots knowing that these candidates demonstrate an unwavering commitment to:

  • ending the influence of special interests and corporations in campaign finance; 
  • expanding union power everywhere; 
  • increasing  investments for infrastructure projects that emphasize sustainability, equity and access for everyone; 
  • adopting the Green New Deal, and its principles of jobs, justice, and decarbonization; 
  • increasing public safety through education, jobs, healthcare, and community-based programs;  
  • making housing permanently affordable, inclusive, and widely available; 
  • healthcare as a right and not a privilege;  
  • making public colleges and universities tuition-free while canceling all student debt; 
  • treating all immigrants with dignity and respect while creating a pathway to citizenship; and 
  • expanding voting rights to protect our democracy.

Multiple candidates in the same race can receive the ‘Courage to Change’ Policy Pledge Distinction. The distinction does not serve as an endorsement from Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez, or the Courage to Change PAC. We invite you to learn more about each candidate through their website below.










New York

North Carolina